BANN Awards

The purpose of BANN’s awards is to recognize individual and team contributions to the fulfilment of BANN’s mission and strategy. The following Awards will be awarded to qualified applicants at the annual conference sponsored by Integra.

  • Best Oral Paper this award will be presented to the author or authors of a written paper that demonstrates the achievement of excellence in neuroscience nursing.
  • Best Poster award – ‘The Bernie Selley Poster Prize’ will be presented to the author or authors of a poster presentation that demonstrates excellence in neuroscience nursing.

Past BANN Awards

2023 Best Clinical Oral Paper was awarded to – Scott Wilson & Clio Cooter, Queen Elizabeth University Hospital, Glasgow, Scotland.
Title of paper: Patient experience in a Neuro Theatre suite.

2023 Best Oral presentation was awarded to: Hannah Mosley: Birmingham City University, England.
Title of paper: What are the experiences of neurocritical care nurses in the use of chemical restraints for the management of TBI.

2023 Bernie Selley Poster Prize was awarded to – Sarah O’Hara: Beaumont Hospital, Dublin, Ireland.
Title of poster: PE in neuro critical care patients.

2022 Best Oral Paper was awarded to – Michelle Taylor & Oudwin Griffith, Institute of Neurological Sciences, Queen Elizabeth University Hospital, Glasgow
Title of paper: Mechanical Thrombectomy Patient Story.

2022 Bernie Selley Poster Prize was awarded to – Dawn Lyle, Lead Research Nurse, Anne Rowling Regenerative Neurology Clinic, Edinburgh
Title of poster: Integrated care and research for people with neurodegenerative disorders at the Anne Rowling Regenerative Neurology Clinic.

2021 none awarded.

2020 no conference held this year due to Covid-19 Pandemic

2019 Best Oral Paper was awarded to – Andreas Andrea Wadeson, Skull Base Clinical Nurses Specialist, Salford Royal NHS Foundation Trust, Salford, UK.
Title of paper: Vestibular Schwannoma Surgery: Pre-operative Intratympanic Gentamicin to Alleviate Post-Operative Vestibular Symptoms.

2019 Bernie Selley Poster Prize was awarded to – Gillian Cluckie Stroke Nurse Consultant & Helen Woods, Neurovascular SpN Neuroscience Department, St. George’s University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, London UK
Title of poster: What are the roles performed by neurovascular clinical nurse specialists in telephone clinics for patients after subarachnoid haemorrhage?

2018 none awarded.

2017 Oral Paper Winner was awarded to – Clare Lynch, University Hospital Birmingham
Title of paper: Keeping an accredited neuro course afloat in the West Midlands.

2017 Bernie Selley Poster Prize was awarded to – Michael Keeling, Stroke Specialist Nurse, York Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Title of poster: Triage, treat and transfer model of hyperacute stroke care.

2016 Oral Paper Winner was awarded to – Jennifer Herron, Belfast Health and Social Care Trust
Title of paper: Enhancing the patient experience during awake craniotomy.

2016 The Bernie Selley Poster Prize was awarded to – Majella Dillon Belfast Health and Social Care Trust for SCREAM (Standardised Critical Care Resuscitation Emergency Airway Management)

2015 Oral Paper Winner was awarded to – Jenny Sacree, Paediatric Neurosciences North Bristol NHS Trust
Title of paper: A Seamless Service?

2015 The Bernie Selley Poster Prize was awarded to – Arlo Whitehouse
Title of poster: Pupil response observations using an infra-red pupilometer versus standard pen torch observations.

2014 Oral Paper Award was awarded to – Caroline Woon, Clinical Nurse Educator, Wellington Hospital, New Zealand
Title of paper: Nursing rehabilitation in the acute setting.

2014 The Bernie Selley Poster Prize was awarded to – Andrea Wadeson, Skull Base Specialist Nurse Salford Royal NHS Foundation Trust Salford
Title of poster: Facial palsy following vestibular schwannoma surgery: A multidisciplinary approach to optimal management.

2013 Oral paper winner was awarded to  – Jackie Tomlinson Ward Manager Addenbrookes. Cambridge
Title of paper: Rapid Access Acute Rehabilitation

2012 Oral paper Winner Ingela Oberg, Clinical Nurse Specialist, Addenbrookes Hospital, Cambridge.
Title of paper: ‘Elective Emergencies’- Is there such a thing? Transforming brain cancer care – The Cambridge model.

2012 Poster Presentation Winner: Lisa Tritton, Titleworth Neuro, (Specialist Brain Injury Services) Milberry House
St Leonards On Sea, East Sussex
Title of poster:  `The use of multisensory environment in acquired brain injury`

2011 Oral paper Winner: 

2010 Oral Paper Winner: – shared between:  
Mary E. Braine, Lecturer, School of Nursing & Midwifery, University of Salford  
Title of paper: ‘Apathy’ a common neurobehavioural problem 

Christina Golsdworthy and Natalie James, CNS Oxford John Radcliffe Hospital NHS Trust, Oxford
Title of paper: The development of a nursing assessment tool for patients with Myasthenia gravis 

2010 Poster Presentation Winner:- Lorife Nepomuceno Senior Staff Nurse Neurosciences, Oxford John Radcliffe Hospital NHS Trust, Oxford

2009 Oral Paper Winner: – Wendy Bennett,  MND Care and Research Centre, Royal Preston Hospital, Sharoegreen Lane, Fulwood, Preston PR2 9HT
Title of paper: The introduction of hospice nurse led clinics improves service access and access to palliative care for people living with MND

2009 Poster Presentation Winner: – Sally Marshall Stroke Specialist Nurse, Salford Stroke Project Team, Salford Royal NHS Foundation Trust, Salford. 
Title of poster: A quality improvement project to reduce door to needle time in thrombolysis for acute stro

2008 Winner – Emma Jackson and Karen Wilcock-Collins Leeds General Infirmary. Title of poster: Infection Prevention.

2007 Winner – Bernie Selley Outreach Lead Birmingham. Poster entitled “Neuroscience Outreach.”